top of page

REV. TIMOTHY SENIOR REMEMBERS MEETING THE POPE AT 19

From a seminarian to an auxiliary bishop, the Rev. Timothy Senior has come a long way since the last time the Pope has visited St. Charles Borromeo Seminary.

“I was 19 years old. It was transformative for me personally, in my life, it was a moment where my own devotion to the priesthood was strengthened,” Senior said of meeting Pope John Paul II in 1979. “It was early in formation and the experience of having Pope John Paul II there and actually encounter him and I shook his hand, it was something I could have never imagined.”

Senior was studying to be a priest at St. Charles then. Now, he is the Rector of the seminary. On Sept. 26, when Pope Francis arrives to stay at the Seminary in Lower Merion, Senior will be the one to greet him.


Follow Us

    #popedfm

    Recent Posts
    bottom of page